Trainings & Lectures - LibGuides at China Europe International Business School

Session 1：Leveraging WRDS Effectively for Empirical Finance Research

WRDS is an indispensable database for conducting empirical research in finance. The lecturer, who has extensive teaching and research experience, will share with everyone the applications of CRSP and Compustat, the featured tools of WRDS, as well as his/her research and practical experience.

Agenda：

Platform Overview & Core Features
Application of CRSP, Compustat
Efficient Research Tools & Live Demonstration
Research Expertise & Best Practices Sharing

Time & Date：14:00-15:30 Oct.20 Monday

Location：AC3-105

Language：Chinese

Speakers：

Dr. Rui Dai, Senior Research Director at WRDS; Adjunct Professor, at The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen. Holds a Ph.D. in Economics from York University and is a CFA holder. Dr. Dai has presented at conferences including those of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, CICF, EFA, and NFA, and has published in journals such as JFE, JMCB, and JCF. His research interests are in Machine Learning, ESG, and Supply Chain.
Erica Zhang, Associate Director of Client Development at WRDS Asia Pacific. Previously worked as a Credit Risk Analyst at Goldman Sachs. Holds an M.S. in Business Analytics from the University of Southern California and a B.S. in Finance from Indiana University (US)

Session 2：CNRDS: Chinese Enterprises Going Global – Cases, Data, and Empirical Research

Leveraging the distinctive data on companies, foreign trade & economic affairs, and industrial chains from the CNRDS platform, we provide you with in-depth interpretations of hot topics covering the full spectrum of "macro environment - micro practice - data foundation - theoretical frontier," so as to expand your research perspectives.

Agenda：

Background
Case Studies (TikTok, Shein, SMIC)
Relevant Databases Overview
Empirical Research Examples

Time & Date：14:30-15:45 Oct. 21 Tuesday

Location：AC3-105

Language：Chinese

Speaker：

Mingzhen Xu, CNRDS Lecturer. With years of experience in financial data research, has conducted over 50 training sessions for institutions including Tsinghua University. Specializes in analyzing hot topics through data and empirical research.

Session 3：S&P Global Capital IQ Pro Database HandsOn Trainin

You will learn how to use Capital IQ Pro to access key corporate financial data, M&A transaction data, and macroeconomic data, as well as the platform's latest AI features. You will also gain insights into the overseas M&A and international expansion cases of well-known enterprises such as BYD and ANTA, and master the skill of closely connecting tool application with the real business world.

Agenda：

Core Features Overview
Case Studies (e.g., BYD, ANTA)
AI-Powered Assistance

Time & Date：16:00-17:15 Oct.21 Tuesday

Location：AC3-105

Language：English

Speaker：

Alan Mei, Customer Success Manager at S&P Global. Graduated from NYU Shanghai and has extensive experience serving investment banks, private equity firms, corporations, and academic institutions.

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)

A platform providing the business intelligence, data analytics, and academic research.

CNRDS 中国研究数据服务平台

专注于中国经济、金融与商学研究, 提供综合数据。

Capital IQ

A single platform for essential intelligence, bringing together an unrivaled breadth and depth of data, news, and research.

Recently Published 近期发表

Future-Proof Power: Emerging Energy Trends in Data Centers

Explore EMIS’ exclusive webinar, in collaboration with BIS Research, where industry experts will delve into global trends in emerging energy solutions—trends that are transforming the future of data centers.Gain valuable insights into key developments, opportunities, and market shifts driving the industry forward. Agenda: Opening Keynote: Data Center Power Crisis – Myth or Megatrend?The Carbon Clock is Ticking – Are Data Centers Ready?Beyond the Grid: Onsite & Captive Energy SystemsLiquid Cooling: The Thermodynamic Future of Power EfficiencyUnconventional Innovations: Floating DCs, Waste Heat, and SMRsSilicon Sovereignty and Semiconductor DisruptionRegional Spotlight: Who’s Leading and Why?Duration: 1 hour Language: English Speakers:Haritha Surendran, Lead Analyst for the Data Center Vertical at BIS ResearchDhrubajyoti Narayan, Principal Analyst for the Energy & Data Center Practice at BIS ResearchEsmeralda del Olmo, Webinar Host, Head of EMIS Marketing → Register and Download the webinar EMIS 新兴市场库 Provide access to the very best information on emerging markets....

Data-Driven Decisions for Going Global

In the wave of "Going Global", how can researchers and practitioners leverage reliable data to gain market insights and analyze corporate internationalization strategies? To this end, the library is launching the "Empowering Global Expansion" Database Training Sessions, introducing specialized databases and research methodologies to provide you with the key to unlocking these insights. → Join Us Session 1：Leveraging WRDS Effectively for Empirical Finance ResearchWRDS is an indispensable database for conducting empirical research in finance. The lecturer, who has extensive teaching and research experience, will share with everyone the applications of CRSP and Compustat, the featured tools of WRDS, as well as his/her research and practical experience.Agenda：Platform Overview & Core FeaturesApplication of CRSP, Compustat Efficient Research Tools & Live DemonstrationResearch Expertise & Best Practices Sharing Time & Date：14:00-15:30 Oct.20 MondayLocation：AC3-105Language：ChineseSpeakers：Dr. Rui Dai, Senior Research Director at WRDS; Adjunct Professor, at The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen. Holds a Ph.D. in Economics from York University and is a CFA holder. Dr. Dai has presented at conferences including those of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, CICF, EFA, and NFA, and has published in journals such as JFE, JMCB, and JCF. His research interests are in Machine Learning, ESG, and Supply Chain. Erica Zhang, Associate Director of Client Development at WRDS Asia Pacific. Previously worked as a Credit Risk Analyst at Goldman Sachs. Holds an M.S. in Business Analytics from the University of Southern California and a B.S. in Finance from Indiana University (US) Session 2：CNRDS: Chinese Enterprises Going Global – Cases, Data, and Empirical ResearchLeveraging the distinctive data on companies, foreign trade & economic affairs, and industrial chains from the CNRDS platform, we provide you with in-depth interpretations of hot topics covering the full spectrum of "macro environment - micro practice - data foundation - theoretical frontier," so as to expand your research perspectives.Agenda：BackgroundCase Studies (TikTok, Shein, SMIC)Relevant Databases OverviewEmpirical Research ExamplesTime & Date：14:30-15:45 Oct. 21 Tuesday Location：AC3-105Language：ChineseSpeaker：Mingzhen Xu, CNRDS Lecturer. With years of experience in financial data research, has conducted over 50 training sessions for institutions including Tsinghua University. Specializes in analyzing hot topics through data and empirical research. Session 3：S&P Global Capital IQ Pro Database HandsOn TraininYou will learn how to use Capital IQ Pro to access key corporate financial data, M&A transaction data, and macroeconomic data, as well as the platform's latest AI features. You will also gain insights into the overseas M&A and international expansion cases of well-known enterprises such as BYD and ANTA, and master the skill of closely connecting tool application with the real business world.Agenda：Core Features OverviewCase Studies (e.g., BYD, ANTA)AI-Powered Assistance Time & Date：16:00-17:15 Oct.21 Tuesday Location：AC3-105Language：EnglishSpeaker：Alan Mei, Customer Success Manager at S&P Global. Graduated from NYU Shanghai and has extensive experience serving investment banks, private equity firms, corporations, and academic institutions. WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) A platform providing the business intelligence, data analytics, and academic research.CNRDS 中国研究数据服务平台专注于中国经济、金融与商学研究, 提供综合数据。Capital IQ A single platform for essential intelligence, bringing together an unrivaled breadth and depth of data, news, and research....

Wiley Research Master Classes

Wiley, a globally leading academic and educational publisher, proudly presents its inaugural "Research Master Classes" this autumn. This premier series is designed to equip you with the foundational skills necessary to successfully embark upon your academic journey.Agenda: Literature Reading and Evidence ManagementAcademic Writing SkillsThe Creation of Academic Paper Figures and TablesResponse to Peer ReviewStrategic Planning for Research CareerDate: Oct. 14-23, 2025 Language: ChineseHost: Yuqi Zhang, Wiley Marketing Dept.Speakers：Dr. Jian Du, Assistant Professor and Doctoral Supervisor, National Institute of Health Data Science, Peking UniversityDr. Xuan Wei, Wiley China Academic AdvisorDr. Jie Li, Researcher and Doctoral Supervisor, Aerospace Information Research Institute, Chinese Academy of SciencesDr. Hao Tian, Associate Professor, School of Journalism, Fudan UniversityDr. Tianyu Liu, Wiley Journal Editor → Join here 1. Evidence Triangulation: How to Integrate Conflicting Research Evidence with AI?In key fields focused on studying causal relationships (such as biology, medicine, economics, etc.), inconsistencies in conclusions often arise between different studies. This is usually because each research method has its own advantages and limitations, while the traditional approach of manually organizing literature is not only inefficient but also prone to being influenced by subjective judgments.This lecture will introduce a new method called "evidence triangulation". It integrates argumentation theory from the philosophy of science with advanced large language models (AI) technology, enabling more efficient and transparent integration of research evidence from diverse sources. This method not only provides a more reliable decision-making basis for policy formulation and scientific research but also helps us understand the underlying reasons behind contradictions and guide the direction of future exploration.▶ 19:00-20:00 Oct.14, 2025 2. Building a Paper Pyramid: Three Steps to Clarify the Structure and Narrative of English Academic WritingIn English academic paper writing, beginners often struggle with disorganized structure and unclear focus, making it difficult for their research achievements to be clearly recognized by the international academic community.This lecture will systematically elaborate on a "three-step" structured writing method: first, it will analyze the logical framework of a paper as a whole and guide how to construct an engaging scientific narrative; second, it will break down the core elements and writing priorities of each chapter to ensure that research findings are presented in a comprehensive manner; finally, through the comparison and interpretation of specific cases, it will provide actionable optimization strategies and guidelines to avoid common pitfalls. This lecture aims to provide academic newcomers with a clear, efficient, and practical writing paradigm. It is designed to alleviate writing anxiety, improve paper quality, and lay a solid foundation for the successful publication of research results.▶ 19:00-20:00 Oct. 15, 2025 3. A Picture Speaks a Thousand Words: Graphing Techniques for Scientific PapersPictures are an important means of expression in scientific papers. This lecture will first introduce key considerations to note before creating graphs for papers, including requirements for data types and image formats. Then, based on two software tools—PPT and Origin—it will explain the basic concepts and techniques of graphing for scientific papers.▶ 14:30-16:30 Oct. 16, 2025 4. Early Preparation for New Academics: A Guide to Research Planning and Career Survival for Junior ResearchersLong-term commitment and "achieving great things later in life" are common ideals among new academics, yet these often conflict with the practical survival challenges they face in the early stages of their academic careers.This online session focuses on topics such as how junior researchers can reasonably plan their research careers during the "novice phase" and "early career phase," how to strike a balance between short-term needs and long-term goals, and how to avoid misleading information (lit. "information toxins") and alleviate career anxiety.It aims to provide practical peer advice for new academics.▶ 19:00-20:00 Oct. 22, 2025 5. Nailing the Final Hurdle: Responding to Peer Review CommentsThis lecture will explore key challenges and practical strategies in the process of responding to peer review comments. When faced with reviewers’ feedback, many authors often miss opportunities for publication due to misunderstandings, inappropriate responses, or overlooked details.The lecture will cover topics such as how to interpret key information in editorial decision letters, understand the core demands behind reviewers’ comments, and master communication skills to maintain a professional tone when dealing with harsh reviews. Additionally, it will highlight common pitfalls and "red flags" in response letters, and provide actionable solutions to help you increase the chances of your paper being accepted—truly nailing the "final hurdle" in the publication of academic papers.▶ 19:00-20:00 Oct. 23, 2025 Wiley Online Library The most authoritative and comprehensive Social Sciences and Humanities research...

Capturing China’s Tech Evolution: Index Perspectives and Market Insights

China’s technology industry is undergoing rapid transformation, driven by innovation, policy shifts, and a growing emphasis on high strategic value industries. As the market deepens across both offshore and A-share segments, investors are seeking more structured and diversified ways to engage with this dynamic space.In this webinar, Emerald Yau, Head of Equity Index Product Management, APAC at FTSE Russell, will share insights into the design and objectives of the FTSE China Incl A 25% Technology Capped Index, which aims to reduce single stock concentration risk. Joining her is Chris Hamilton, Head of Client Solutions at Invesco, who will offer perspectives on how investors are approaching China’s tech sector, including through index-linked strategies such as the Invesco China Technology ETF, which tracks the index.Agenda: Overview of the index methodology and design principlesKey trends shaping China’s technology landscapeConsiderations for accessing diversified exposure to Chinese techTime & Date: 11:00 a.m. - 11:45 a.m.（GMT+8）, Sep. 23, 2025 (Tuesday) Language: English Speakers:Emerald Yau, Head of Equity Index Product Management, APAC, FTSE RussellChristopher Hamilton, Head of Client Solutions, Asia Pacific ex Japan, Invesco → Join Workspace An ecosystem of insights, news and analytics, built to augment workflow and streamline tasks....