Skip to Main Content

 

           

Research Tools and Software: Bibliographic Management Software

Statistical Analysis, Bibliographic Management and Survey

Brief Comparison

　 EndNote X9 Desktop EndNote Online Mendeley Zotero
Applications Installation required Web-based, cloud-based Desktop and web-based. Integrates with IE, Firefox, Chrome and Safari. Desktop and browser extension for Firefox, Chrome and Safari.
Cost Free for CEIBS users Free for CEIBS users Free for basic version Free, open source
Storage Unlimited number of references and unlimited attachments maximum of 50,000 references and up to 2GB of attachments. Free with 1GB web storage space Free with a 300m storage
Start-up Quick Quick Quick Quick
How does it work Import and organise references from single file, databases, EndNote Online and your local library on your computer Import and organise citations from Web of Science, single files and EndNote Desktop Import and organise citations from databases, other reference software and your computer.  A Zotero URL icon will show on your browser when you are looking at an item. Click the icon to add the item to your Zotero references.
Strengths
  • Search some library databases in EndNote
  • Match your articles with relevant journals
  • Share your reference groups with your collaborators
  • EndNote desktop and EndNote Online can be synced
  • Share your reference groups with your collaborators online
  • Quick reference management online
  • Do not require installation
  • EndNote Online and EndNote desktop can be synced
  • Match your papers with journals online
  • Manages PDFs well
  • Has social networking pages
  • Can share citation with other users
  • Works with some databases that don't integrate with EndNote and RefWorks, such as Factiva.
  • Manages various formats, include web pages
Does it have many reference styles? Yes. 7,000+ reference types or customised style Yes, it has 7,000+ reference types  Yes, many popular styles including Harvard, APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. Yes, many popular styles including IEEE, ALA, Chicago, MLA, Elsevier's Harvard Style, etc.
Can its records be exported to other citation software? Yes. Records can be exported to EndNote, BibTex, Refer, Tab Delimited and RIS. Yes. Records can be exported to EndNote, BibTex, Refer, Tab Delimited and RIS. Yes Yes. Records can be exported to BibTex, XML, EndNote and RIS.
Does it integrate with word processing software? Yes. Works with Open Office, Word, etc. with its plugin. Yes. Works with Open Office, Word, etc. with its plugin. Yes. Works with Open Office, Word and La Tex. Yes. Works with Google Drive, Open Office and Word.

What & Why

What is Bibliographic Management Software?

Bibliographic Management Software helps you to create and manage references for your scholarly writing process.
It as well called Citation Software, Citation Managers, and Reference Management Tools etc.

Why use Bibliographic Management Software?

  • Take notes, collect and save PDFs, images, notes, screenshots and other files for your research and studies
  • Import bibliographies from databases and web pages
  • Format references for your academic works
  • Create and organise your personal reference library

Online Quick Citation Machines

ZoteroBib is a fast references generator provided by Zotero.

Citation Machine is a free online tool that supports Chicago(9th ed.), Turabian, APA (7th ed.) and MLA (8th ed.) formats.

BibMe is a free to use online Bibliography Maker for MLA, APA, Chicago and Turabian formats.

Neil’s Toolbox: an online Harvard and APA Referencing Styles generator

Did you find what you were looking for?
YES: 2 votes (12.5%)
NO: 14 votes (87.5%)
Total Votes: 16

Reference Management Software

EndNote 20 (Desktop) - Free for CEIBS users

EndNote is a bibliographic management software provided by Clarivate Analytics. You can import records from databases, organise references and create formatted reference lists in a variety of publishing styles.

Download

EndNote 20 can be downloaded at https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/Download-EndNote?language=en_US

If you are an iOS user, please download the installer on the app store.

**Note: Please choose "I have a Product Key" during installation, and you will be prompted to enter your Product Key.

License

CEIBS users can make applications by filling out the application form online at https://ceibs.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_a60IovKvRENizGe. You will get a confirmation letter through e-mail message to your CEIBS e-mail account.

**Note: If you do not receive a confirmation e-mail message, an error may have occurred and the request is not submitted.

 

EndNote Online - Free for CEIBS users

***Creating an EndNote Web Library lets you:

  • Access your EndNote Library from any computer at your institution
  • Add references to your EndNote Library directly from Web of Science 
  • Organise references into folders for access and use at any time
  • Create formatted reference lists in a variety of publishing styles 
  • EndNote Online and EndNote desktop can be synced.

***Guide:

Mendeley Desktop is an academic software that indexes and organises your PDF documents and research papers into your own digital library. It is a relatively new reference tool that provides collaboration software that allows users to share their citations and to connect with other researchers. Mendeley provides applications for desktop and iPad/iPhone. Download Mendeley for free from: http://www.mendeley.com/

Zotero (zoh-TAIR-oh) is a free, open-source bibliographic programme which runs as a plugin in browsers. It allows users to collect, manage, cite and share research resources from within browsers. Zotero provides Zotero for Firefox and Zotero Standalone for Chrome and Safari. Download Zotero 3.0 free from: http://www.zotero.org/support/3.0

 

ZoteroBib 

Zotero's online quick references generator. You can create references in any format online.

 

Call number: 025.30285536/P977/2011

Location: Library Open Stacks 2F