CNRDS Launches 8 ESG Databases
Under the "Dual Carbon" goals and the global ESG wave, high-quality data serves as the core engine driving academic research, corporate decision-making, and policy formulation. CNRDS (Chinese Research Data Services Platform) announces the launch of its ESG thematic databases, providing researchers with authoritative, multidimensional, and high-frequency underlying ESG data support for the Chinese market!
The following eight core ESG databases under CNRDS are now fully accessible:
1. CESG（Corporate ESG Database）
Scientific Design: CESG draws on the design standards of internationally renowned ESG databases while incorporating the specific realities of Chinese enterprises. It covers six key dimensions: Philanthropy, Volunteer Activities & Social Controversies; Corporate Governance; Diversity; Employee Relations; Environment; and Products, comprising 58 fields in total. Each dimension includes fields designed from both "Strengths" and "Concerns" perspectives.
Intuitive Use: Most fields in CESG are dummy variables, clearly reflecting corporate social responsibility characteristics across different dimensions. Users can quickly construct comprehensive or specific corporate social responsibility indices.
2. ESGR（Listed Company ESG Rating Database）
Long Time Span: ESGR covers annual data of listed companies since 2007.
Comprehensive Coverage: ESGR includes all A-share listed companies (excluding delisted and specially treated companies).
Massive Data Support: Built on relevant data from the CNRDS platform and extensive underlying raw data.
Professional Data Processing: Utilizes professional methods to process raw data and calculation procedures.
Indicators with Chinese Characteristics: Indicator construction incorporates China’s national context.
3. GMRD（Green Manufacturing Research Database）
Rich Data Content: GMRD not only compiles green manufacturing-related lists but also matches related companies with their listed parents or subsidiaries. It provides comprehensive research data, including basic company information, innovation patents, and green patents.
Reliable Data Sources: Based on green manufacturing lists released by the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology.
GMRD includes four modules: Green Factories, Green Supply Chain Management, Green Design Products, and Green Parks. It compiles green manufacturing enterprises and product lists and matches them with listed companies and their subsidiaries. Additionally, GMRD offers extensive data such as basic company information, innovation patents, and green patents to support diverse academic research.
4. EPRD（Environmental Penalty Research Database）
- Provides extensive environmental penalty data.
- EPRD covers environmental penalty records from multiple cities across China and offers multi-year time-series data, providing critical support for academic research.
5. CEGD（Corporate Environmental Governance Database）
- Offers rich environmental data on listed companies. CEGD captures corporate environmental governance through multiple dimensions, including whether a company is a key pollutant discharger, pollutant discharge fees, environmental protection expenditures, emission details, environmental governance subsidies, and environmental penalties.
6. CEDS（China Environment Database）
Uniqueness: As the only academic database in China dedicated to environmental research, CEDS systematically consolidates data on various aspects of China’s environment. It includes meteorological, environmental, and natural disaster data, as well as information on protected areas, natural ecology, environmental assessment agencies, and personnel. This database holds significant academic value for researching China’s environment and pollution prevention.
Multidimensionality: CEDS covers not only basic atmospheric and natural disaster information but also urban geographical data, environmental assessment agencies and personnel, and lists of key national pollutant emission monitoring enterprises. The atmospheric environment section is further subdivided into pollutant emissions, air quality, and atmospheric conditions.
Comprehensiveness: CEDS includes data on atmosphere and disasters, natural ecology, environmental impact assessments, and more. The database features extensive content, comprehensively captured information, and authoritative data sources, ensuring full coverage of environmental-related fields.
7. ENVS（Environmental Statistics Database）
- Authoritative and Comprehensive: ENVS reflects the basic conditions of various environmental domains in China since 2004. Data are sourced from the National Bureau of Statistics and the Ministry of Ecology and Environment.
8. CSRT（CSR Report Text Database）
- Accurate Data Analysis and Rich Fields: CSRT extracts precise information from corporate social responsibility reports published by listed companies, offering multidimensional insights.
You can click the link below to access CNRDS and search for "ESG" or enter the names of the databases listed above.
Comprehensive Data for China's Economic, Financial, and Business Research.