LibGuides: Case Studies: Home

Case Studies

"A business case study is a description of an actual situation, commonly involving a decision, a challenge, an opportunity, a problem or an issue faced by a person (or persons) in an organization. A case allows (the student) to step figuratively into the position of a particular decision maker. The strength of the case method of teaching is that students have to apply business principles to the issues raised and defend their recommended course of action to their fellow students."

Case Studies in Library Databases

You can find case studies in the following Library databases.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive database covering journals, dissertations, country and industry reports, company profiles, etc.
ABI/INFORM Collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. It comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
【Language】English / …
【Date】1855 - current
【Provider】ProQuest
【Full Text】(HTML / PDF)
Scholarly and Trade Journals / Magazines / Reports / News / Working Papers (OA full-text) / Conference Papers & Proceedings‎ / Dissertations & Theses‎ (inc. preview)…
【Download Full-Text】PDF / Text / RTF
【Export Citations】
- Export to RefWorks / EasyBib / NoodleTools
- Export a RIS / PDF / RTF / Text / XLS file
【Report Source】
- Business Monitor International (BMI)
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
- Oxford Economics
- Experian
- Barnes World Industry & Market Reports
- Acquisdata Company SnapShot Reports
- Plunkett Industry Analytics Reports
【Report Coverage】
- Company Profile‎
- Annual Report‎
- Industry Report‎
- Country Report‎
- Market Research‎
- Statistics/Data Report‎
【Main Subjects】
- Business
- Economic Conditions
- Corporate Strategies
- Management Theory and Techniques
- Business Trends
- Competitive landscape
- Accounting, Finance
- Acquisitions & Mergers‎
- Taxation
- Financial Management
- Human Resource Management
- Industries
- Marketing
- Operations Management
- International Trade
- Computer & Software Industry
- Computer
- Information Science
- ...
ASP & BSU This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database containing journal articles, magazines, book chapters, etc. and a wealth of country, market, industry and company profiles.
Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Business Source Ultimate (BSU) offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world.
【Language】English / ...
【Date】
- (ASP) 1887 - current
- (BSU) 1886 - current
【Provider】EBSCO
【Full Text】(HTML / PDF) Scholarly and Trade Journals / Magazines / Reports / News / Reviews / Book Chapters...
【Full Access】(HTML) Company Data
【More Types】Audios / Images
【Download Full-Text】PDF
【Download Data】CSV
【Export Citations】
- Export to EndNote / RefWorks / EasyBib / NoodleTools
- Export a RIS / HTML / XML / BibTeX / MARC21 / CSV file
【Report Source】
- MarketLine
- FRPT Research
- CountryWatch
- Bernstern Research
- IHS Country Monitor
- U.S. Department of Education
- …
【Report Coverage】
- Industry Profile
- Country Profile
- Market Research
- Corporation Reports
- ...
【Data Coverage】Company Information
- Contact Information
- Financials (Revenue)
- Executives
- Industry
- More…
【Main Subjects】
- Economics
- Clinical Specialties
- Management
- Life Sciences
- Law
- Public Policy & Administration
- Industries & Trades
- Banking
- Finance & Investing
- Computer Science
- Accounting & Tax
- Medical Sciences
- Psychology
- Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
- Engineering
- Social Sciences & Humanities (General)
- ...

Choose Advanced Search.
Select Business Case or Case Study in Document type.
Type a keyword relevant to your research such as “marketing” in the first search box.

CEIBS Case Studies

The Global Platform of China Cases (ChinaCases.org)
The platform is developed and maintained by the CEIBS Case Center in collaboration with 14 MBA schools in Shanghai, and other internationally renowned business schools and institutions. It aims to promote case teaching in management education and training in China and globally, and to contribute to China’s economic and social development.

Faculty can request an educator account to download the inspection copies of cases and teaching notes. Please send an e-mail to chinacases@ceibs.edu for the request.

Web Resources for Case Studies

The following publishers or clearinghouses charge a fee for access to their case studies. Students need to pay a small fee in order to access the entire case study. Faculty can apply for an educator account and download the inspection copies of cases and teaching notes for free.

Harvard Business Publishing
Founded in 1994 as a not-for-profit, wholly-owned subsidiary of Harvard University, reporting into Harvard Business School. Their mission is to improve the practice of management in a changing world.
The Case Centre
Formerly the European Case Clearing House (ECCH), they offer cases from leading business schools on all aspects of national and international business and management. This includes the collections of Harvard Business Publishing, Ivey Publishing, Darden Business Publishing, INSEAD, IBS Hyderabad, IMD and London Business School amongst many others.
Ivey Publishing
The leader in providing business case studies with a global perspective. With over 8,000 products in their collection, Ivey Publishing adds more than 350 classroom-tested case studies each year.

Free Case Studies

The following sites provide free access to some case study materials.

Case Studies in Library Books

You can use Library's One Stop Search to locate the print or electronic books about case studies.

Visit Library's One Stop Search.
Choose Advanced Search.
Select Book / eBook in content type.
Search for "case studies" and a keyword relevant to your research.

Unravelling the Mysteries of Case Study Research by Marilyn L. Taylor; Mikael Søndergaard
索书号: 650.0721/T238/2017
ISBN: 9781786437235
出版日期: 2017
Case Study Research by Robert K. Yin
索书号: 300.722/Y515/5TH ED/2014
ISBN: 9781452242569
出版日期: 2013
Case Study Research and Applications by Robert K. Yin
索书号: 300.722/Y515/6TH ED/2018
ISBN: 9781506336169
出版日期: 2018

Case Study Journals

Asian Case Research Journal
Business Case Journal
Harvard Business Review
Journal of Business Case Studies
Journal of Case Research
Journal of Case Studies
Journal of the International Academy for Case Studies

Please search and read these journals from library's website.

Contact

Contact a librarian:

Lisa Lu
Tel: 86-21-28905245
Email: llisa@ceibs.edu

Contact CEIBS Case Centre:

Hotline： 86-21-28905345
Email： chinacases@ceibs.edu