Resource Updates

CNRDS Launches 8 ESG Databases

Under the "Dual Carbon" goals and the global ESG wave, high-quality data serves as the core engine driving academic research, corporate decision-making, and policy formulation. CNRDS (Chinese Research Data Services Platform) announces the launch of its ESG thematic databases, providing researchers with authoritative, multidimensional, and high-frequency underlying ESG data support for the Chinese market!

The following eight core ESG databases under CNRDS are now fully accessible:

1. CESG（Corporate ESG Database）

• Scientific Design: CESG draws on the design standards of internationally renowned ESG databases while incorporating the specific realities of Chinese enterprises. It covers six key dimensions: Philanthropy, Volunteer Activities & Social Controversies; Corporate Governance; Diversity; Employee Relations; Environment; and Products, comprising 58 fields in total. Each dimension includes fields designed from both "Strengths" and "Concerns" perspectives.

• Intuitive Use: Most fields in CESG are dummy variables, clearly reflecting corporate social responsibility characteristics across different dimensions. Users can quickly construct comprehensive or specific corporate social responsibility indices.

2. ESGR（Listed Company ESG Rating Database）

• Long Time Span: ESGR covers annual data of listed companies since 2007.

• Comprehensive Coverage: ESGR includes all A-share listed companies (excluding delisted and specially treated companies).

• Massive Data Support: Built on relevant data from the CNRDS platform and extensive underlying raw data.

• Professional Data Processing: Utilizes professional methods to process raw data and calculation procedures.

• Indicators with Chinese Characteristics: Indicator construction incorporates China’s national context.

3. GMRD（Green Manufacturing Research Database）

• Rich Data Content: GMRD not only compiles green manufacturing-related lists but also matches related companies with their listed parents or subsidiaries. It provides comprehensive research data, including basic company information, innovation patents, and green patents.

• Reliable Data Sources: Based on green manufacturing lists released by the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology.

• GMRD includes four modules: Green Factories, Green Supply Chain Management, Green Design Products, and Green Parks. It compiles green manufacturing enterprises and product lists and matches them with listed companies and their subsidiaries. Additionally, GMRD offers extensive data such as basic company information, innovation patents, and green patents to support diverse academic research.

4. EPRD（Environmental Penalty Research Database）

• Provides extensive environmental penalty data.
• EPRD covers environmental penalty records from multiple cities across China and offers multi-year time-series data, providing critical support for academic research.

5. CEGD（Corporate Environmental Governance Database）

• Offers rich environmental data on listed companies. CEGD captures corporate environmental governance through multiple dimensions, including whether a company is a key pollutant discharger, pollutant discharge fees, environmental protection expenditures, emission details, environmental governance subsidies, and environmental penalties.

6. CEDS（China Environment Database）

• Uniqueness: As the only academic database in China dedicated to environmental research, CEDS systematically consolidates data on various aspects of China’s environment. It includes meteorological, environmental, and natural disaster data, as well as information on protected areas, natural ecology, environmental assessment agencies, and personnel. This database holds significant academic value for researching China’s environment and pollution prevention.

• Multidimensionality: CEDS covers not only basic atmospheric and natural disaster information but also urban geographical data, environmental assessment agencies and personnel, and lists of key national pollutant emission monitoring enterprises. The atmospheric environment section is further subdivided into pollutant emissions, air quality, and atmospheric conditions.

• Comprehensiveness: CEDS includes data on atmosphere and disasters, natural ecology, environmental impact assessments, and more. The database features extensive content, comprehensively captured information, and authoritative data sources, ensuring full coverage of environmental-related fields.

7. ENVS（Environmental Statistics Database）

• Authoritative and Comprehensive: ENVS reflects the basic conditions of various environmental domains in China since 2004. Data are sourced from the National Bureau of Statistics and the Ministry of Ecology and Environment.

8. CSRT（CSR Report Text Database）

• Accurate Data Analysis and Rich Fields: CSRT extracts precise information from corporate social responsibility reports published by listed companies, offering multidimensional insights.

You can click the link below to access CNRDS and search for "ESG" or enter the names of the databases listed above.
 

To enable flexible discovery and comprehensive research evaluation, the Web of Science platform now provides expanded content in the new Research Commons database. It is a separate, comprehensive collection of journal output from open metadata sources.

The introduction of Research Commons marks another step forward in responsibly expanding the Web of Science universe. Searchable alongside the Core Collection in All Databases, Research Commons provides:

• Expanded content: More than 32 million documents published in journals in the last 10 years sourced from open platforms, starting with Crossref and OpenAlex at launch— increasing the amount of journal content discoverable on the platform by 21%

• Global and disciplinary breadth: 53% of content is from researchers in the Global South, and 43% is in the social sciences, arts and humanities

• More open access content: 39% of content is published via open access models

Research Commons is a separate database that is not part of the Core Collection. The Core Collection will continue to serve the community as a trustworthy, bounded index of sources that have undergone rigorous evaluation by a publisher-neutral team of experts.

With the addition of Research Commons, platform-wide Web of Science searches now return more results, and users can continue to filter results by database to prioritize quality or breadth based on the task at hand. For researchers, Research Commons enhances visibility — especially for work in underrepresented fields and regions — and provides more connection points across the Web of Science citation network. 

Some Research Commons content may not be peer-reviewed, the default setting in All Databases search excludes it from results — users must choose to include it as they do for Preprint Citation Index content.
 

Choose All Databases and then search
 

Clear NOT Database: Research Commons
 

Check the box Research Commons

Research Commons records are linked to the Web of Science citation network, providing more connection points and pathways to uncover related research. At the record level, citations are recorded for each database so that users can continue to rely on metrics derived from trusted Core Collection content alongside metrics derived from additional databases, including the Research Commons.

Research Commons record for a paper with 24 citations across the Web of Science platform
Click links in Citation Network on the right for more related literature

Beyond flexible discovery, increasing coverage on the Web of Science platform also enables comprehensive analytics. Researchers will have the ability to add Research Commons publications to their profiles. 
 

CEIC Data has enhanced its China Premium product by adding four new International Trade topics: 

• China’s monthly import and export dependency by all HS2 digits classification (HS01–HS99) and by 17 countries
• China’s monthly imports and exports from the US by HS 8 digits classification, including trade value (in RMB and USD) and quantity
• China’s monthly import and export by HS 4/6 digits classification.
• China’s annual import tariffs by General, Most-Favored Nation (MFN), and Agreement Tariff Rates, covering products imported from the US and classified by HS 8/10 digits classification.

A key highlight is the proprietary trade dependency data, designed to provide ready-to-use indicators. Additionally, all newly added China-US trade and tariff data are quality controlled and standardized, ensuring comparability, consistency, and systematic data presentation.

These updates build on the existing coverage of HS 1/2/8 digit classifications, major commodities, and regional trade data.

Charts links: (Before clicking the links below, please log in to CEIC Data first.)

• How China's trade dependencies have evolved in a higher-tariff era
• China's tariffs on US goods balance interests of domestic industries, strategic imports
• Manufacturing in China: how global supply-chain exports have outpaced consumer-goods sectors
   

Data links: (Before clicking the links below, please log in to CEIC Data first.)

• China’s Trade Dependency on 17 Countries
• China’s Trade with US by HS 8 digits classification: USD, RMB, Quantity
• China’s Trade by HS4/6 digits classification:
  • HS 4: USD, RMB
  • HS 6: USD, RMB
• China’s Tariffs on US Imports
   

LSEG has launched Reuters Super Summaries, delivering crucial, market-moving company events concisely summarised at speed to gain a competitive edge and make critical investment decisions.

News Monitor in Workspace enables you to view Reuters Super Summaries (SSUM). These summaries are an AI-assisted topic that expands company earnings coverage to include a broad range of companies previously not covered by Reuters stories. This coverage includes key companies, consolidated information minutes after earnings are released, and summarisation of key earnings information plus fast context.

 In Workspace, find NEWS2.0, then search SSUM

The summaries are created using AI with editorial review. They provide contextual insights by combining LSEG data with trusted journalism and insights from Reuters. Current coverage focuses on key US and Canadian companies and will increase to as many as 10,000 global companies globally. 

The story format consists of six sections — story headline, overview, outlook, result drivers, key details and analyst coverage.

CEIC Launches Major Update with High-Frequency Data for Developed Markets, Including European Consumer Card Spending Data (for tracking consumer behavior) and U.S. Transaction Data (for household demand analysis). Additionally, the China Database has expanded its National Balance Sheet (enabling in-depth analysis of wealth composition) while optimizing the regional construction industry indicator system. For Latin America, detailed banking statistics for Mexico and Colombia have been added, providing crucial references for financial system analysis. CEIC has also simultaneously released outstanding credit data for Indian states and regions, as well as export details broken down by administrative divisions.

• European Consumer Card Spending：This dataset incorporates high-frequency consumer card usage data from the Fable Database, providing a detailed breakdown of weekly spending patterns among European households, segmented by online and offline channels. It enables real-time tracking of how consumer behavior dynamically shifts amid macroeconomic shocks, monetary tightening, and cost-of-living pressures, with consistent coverage across Germany and the UK.

• U.S. High-Frequency Transaction Spending Data：Sourced from Facteus, this high-frequency transaction spending dataset delivers real-time insights into U.S. consumer expenditures, supporting daily tracking of credit and debit card transaction flows across industries. Categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and Merchant Category Codes (MCC), the data facilitates granular analysis of household demand in essential goods, non-essential consumer goods, and services sectors.

More Data for Developed Markets including data for the EU, Germany, UK, Spain, Japan, South Korea, Australia, and other developed economies.

• China National Balance Sheet Account：Known as a "national ledger," the National Balance Sheet serves as a critical data foundation for analyzing a country’s national strength, wealth composition, and debt risks. The Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS) has compiled China’s National Balance Sheet for the 1978–2022 period. CEIC has extended the historical coverage of this dataset from 2000 back to 1978, while adding new indicators such as breakdowns for the household sector, government sector, and non-financial assets.

• China Regional Construction Data：CEIC has further expanded its construction industry data by enhancing quarterly financial data of enterprises at both national and provincial levels. Data expansions include indicators such as labor productivity, completed floor area per capita, under-construction floor area per capita, as well as data on the number of state-owned enterprises and state-controlled enterprises, their employee counts, and contract values. These new data points provide valuable resources for analyzing construction industry efficiency, regional performance, and the contribution of SOEs.

• Latin American Banking Statistics：Including commercial bank deposit data for Mexico and portfolio data for Colombian financial institutions.

• India Outstanding Credit Data：Comprehensive release of credit balance data, including breakdowns by region, state, location (rural, urban, semi-urban, and metropolitan), bank type, and industry.

• ASEAN：New additions include Indonesia Premium Dataset, comprehensive data on Malaysia’s service exports and imports, Thailand’s inflation and financial market data, and new real estate industry data for Vietnam.

To access details, please log in to the CEIC Database via the link below and click on this link.
 

Emerald Publishing launches new Emerald Insight platform. The upgraded Emerald Insight will deliver a more intuitive and inclusive user experience.

It serves as the primary gateway to Emerald journals, books, and an ever-growing collection of open access content. The platform will be home to all Emerald Publishing content, including the Institute of Civil Engineers (ICE) Publishing portfolio, acquired by Emerald in May 2023.

Developed in partnership with Silverchair, Emerald has addressed these priorities head-on, delivering a new platform that offers flexibility and keeps the future in focus.

The new site is mobile compatible and offers a variety of new features including:

• Sustainability and accessibility enhancements through optimised use of colour, images, graphics, and vectors to support improved user journeys, more detailed filtering, and faster page load times. 
• Split View: A dual panel view displaying figures and additional data alongside the article.
• Simplified Research Pass user experience for utilising tokens across book chapters and journal articles.
• Collection pages offering the option to curate diverse content across products and fields, or within the products you have access to, facilitating deeper discovery.

EMIS announced introduction of China Open Web Reports in Chinese, as an extension to its English Open Web reports.

The addition of the new China Open Web Reports in Chinese is expected to significantly supercharge research capabilities into Chinese industries and sectors by giving a direct access to real-time, keyword search reports from the Chinese public domain. One of the key benefits of expanding industry research coverage to China public domain is the improved coverage and increased frequency of updates. This means more coverage, faster updates, and deeper insights for Chinese researchers. Reports are now available almost real-time, enabling our users to get deeper insights on market trends, analyze competitors, or explore new sectors, elevating and supporting their decision-making processes. 

When you find these reports from open web,  you will be redirected to the original web page when opening the title of interest.

• Wider coverage: EMIS has expanded beyond traditional websites to include WeChat official accounts of China's top industry research institutions, KOL, think tanks, investing banks, and research teams of top securities.

• Enriched report formats: In addition to PDFs, EMIS now includes HTML format reports. Users can enable web translation of HTML content to conduct in-depth research on China.

• Faster updates: The whole process is fully automated from monitoring, metadata generation to delivery and uploading to EMIS. With a 24/7 streaming setup, you'll receive updates almost in real time as new content becomes available.

• Client Feedback Matters. Expandable Content Scope: EMIS is keeping this content set dynamic and responsive. Users can suggest new sources to be added to our monitoring scope on a monthly basis.

• Historical records available from January 2023.
   

JSTOR Launched AI Research Tool to deepen and expand your research with a trusted corpus. This tool leverages artificial intelligence and other advanced technologies to enhance your research, teaching, and learning.

Before using the AI tool, please register a personal account. Click "Register " in the upper-right corner of the webpage to sign up for free.

• Once logged in, you’ll see "Keyword results" and "Semantic results" options on the search results page. Standard search relies on keyword matching, while semantic search provides better results for natural language queries.

• On the results page, select the journal article, book chapter, or research report you want to view. If eligible, the AI research tool on the right side of the page will activate to answer related questions. You can toggle the tool ON/OFF to hide or restart it. The AI tool can summarize key points, generate abstracts, discover similar content, explore related topics further, and answer your questions about the text. To cite the AI research tool itself, click the ellipsis button next to "Send" and select "Cite AI research tool".

• In the left-hand text viewer, click the "Select text" tool at the top-left corner to highlight a phrase or paragraph. You can then get related content, view key insights from the selected text, and more.

Welcome to use JSTOR AI research tool！
 

CNKI is an integrated digital publishing platform encompassing academic journals, dissertations, conference papers, newspapers, standards, research outcomes, and reference tools. The newly launched AI features are now available for trial, offering powerful assistance for your academic research.

• Knowledge Q&A – Precise Traceability, Credible and Controllable
  Comprehensively analyze and understand users' questions, search for the most relevant answers within the entire CNKI database. The sources of content are traceable, ensuring the results are authoritative, true, and credible.
• Enhanced Retrieval – Semantics-Driven, Paradigm Innovation
  Integrate the natural language processing and semantic understanding capabilities of large models into information retrieval. Support retrieving documents and original text paragraphs in natural language, realizing a paradigm shift from traditional keyword-based retrieval to semantic vector-based retrieval.
• Intelligent Study – In-Depth Analysis, Knowledge Efficiency
  Provide services such as single-article Q&A, article companion reading, and thematic Q&A. Help users sort out the context, extract essences, and quickly obtain key information from documents, making knowledge absorption easy and efficient.
• Auxiliary Creation – Credible Reference, Intelligent Collaboration
  AI-assisted creation forms a complete closed loop of study and writing. From inspiration stimulation to finalizing the draft, intelligent services such as intelligent companion writing, conversational creation, and polishing and revision accompany the entire process, making the creative results more accurate in language, clearer in logic, and more standardized in content.

Trial Period: Jul. 1 - Dec. 31, 2025

Database Link: CNKI 中国知网学术期刊与辑刊库

Registration Steps: Scan the QR code to register a personal account (those with an existing CNKI personal account can log in directly). You need to fill in the relevant information and submit it to complete the binding successfully.

Access Mode: Please click on the database link, then click “个人登录” at the top right corner, and enter your registered and successfully bound account and password.

Kind Reminder: As a scientific research auxiliary tool, the content generated by CNKI AI is for reference only. Please use it in a reasonable and standardized manner.

If you have any questions during use, please feel free to send your feedback to librefer@ceibs.edu.
 

Exploring CEIC Alternative Data Charts Collection, you'll gain a comprehensive insight into the global economic operation, understand market supply-demand changes and the interlinkage effects among various factors, providing scientific basis for decision-making.

• Immediate Forecasts:  Latest Immediate Forecast Data of US GDP, Immediate Forecast of Euro-Zone Inflation, Immediate Forecast of Euro-Zone Core Inflation, Immediate Forecast of US Personal Consumption Expenditures (PCE) Inflation, Immediate Forecast of US Core PCE Inflation, Immediate Forecast of US Non-Farm Payrolls, Deviation of Immediate Forecast vs. Deviation of Market Consensus Forecast, Immediate Forecast of Non-Farm Payrolls, Immediate Forecast of China's Retail Sales
• Domestic Trade:  Credit Card Statistics in South Korea Usually Lead the Trends of Retail Trade, Weekly Motor Vehicle Registrations in India vs. Private Consumption, Payment Card Data in Turkey Indicate that the Recent Retail Trade Tends to Stagnate, GRIPS E-Commerce Data Can Reflect the Trends of US Retail Sales More Timely, BBVA Big Data Credit Card Consumption Index in Spain vs. Spanish Retail Sales
• Foreign Trade:  The Baltic Dry Bulk Shipping Reflects the Dynamics of the Global Supply Chain, South Korea's Early Trade Data Reveal the National and Regional Trade Trends, Using the Pre - trade Data to Forecast South Korea's National and Regional Trade Trends, Year-on-Year Change in Russia's Foreign Trade Volume
• Shipping:  Year-on-Year Growth of Exports, Year-on-Year Growth of Port Docking and Loading Operations, Year-on-Year Growth of the Number of Departing Ships (Brazil, India, Russia, Indonesia, South Africa, the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Italy, Canada, Australia, Japan, South Korea, BRICS countries, G7 countries, etc.)
• Labor Market:  Job Posting Data from Revelio Labs Provide Early Signals of JOLTS Job Vacancies, India's Naukri JobSpeak Index vs. Labor Force Participation Rate, Recruitment Advertisements Can be Used to Forecast UK Inflation.
• Sentiment Index:  Daily News Sentiment Index (DNSI), South Korean News Sentiment Index vs. Consumer Sentiment Index, South Korean News Sentiment Index Can Affect the Market Trend
• Inflation:  The Sustained High Gasoline Prices Drive up the Inflation Expectations, Inflation Expectations Usually Reflect the Current Price Level, Australia: Actual Inflation vs. ANZ Inflation Expectations, CEIC Daily Food Price Index vs. FAO Monthly Food Price Index, CEIC Daily Food Price Index Can be Used to Forecast Indonesia's CPI, CEIC's Estimate Forecasts a Slowdown in India's Food Inflation.
  The Hyper - inflation of Food in Sri Lanka in 2022 and Its Follow-up Effects, The Overall Inflation in Pakistan and the Sensitive Price Index (SPI) Show a Consistent Slowdown, Turkey's Real - time Payment Data Indicate a Sustained Downward Trend in Inflation, CEIC’s estimate anticipates official food inflation slowdown, CEIC’s estimate anticipates official food inflation slowdown
• Foreign Exchange Rates and Capital Flows:  The Strength of the Malaysian Ringgit is Related to Capital Inflows and Outflows, Singapore's EPFR Equity and Bond Flows vs. the SGD - USD Exchange Rate, Indonesia's EPFR Equity and Bond Flows vs. the IDR - USD Exchange Rate
• Climate:  Extreme Climate Events in Côte d'Ivoire and the Soaring Cocoa Prices in 2023 - 2024, Years of Heatwaves in Brazil Lead to Orange Crop Failures and the Rising Price of Orange Juice, Years of High Temperatures in Brazil Lead to Orange Crop Failures and the Rising Price of Orange Juice
• Industrial Production:  German Truck Mileage vs. Industrial Production, The Number of US Oil Rigs vs. Machinery Output

Please log in to CEIC database below and then click on this link to obtain the charts.